top of page
  • Writer's pictureFinn Holmgren

Do You Even Lift?

Updated: Dec 9, 2020

Sitting Down with Nara Nueva



Finn: Nara, thank you so much for sitting down to talk to me. How about you let everyone know, first off, what your business is.


Nara: Well, the company is 'Nueva Athletics' because it's my company, as well as being something new. What it is I offer is a personalized training experience, generally one on one personal training and meal planning, as well as very small groups of under five people.


F: Nueva Athletics. Has a nice ring to it. So very oriented around personal training, what made you choose this model, instead of a more conventional gym business plan?


N: My business partners and I want to focus on exclusivity as part of the experience of going to a five-star resort. All hotels have a gym, what they don't have is someone like me, or at my caliber. also, I don't necessarily need a gym to train people, and some times clients have better gyms. It's about me working with you, not you going someplace to work solo.


F: It makes sense for a relatively small community like this one. You are young, is this your first foray into personal training?


N: It's my first serious one with running my own company. Back in college, I was captain of the Track team at UNLV, and later at Woodcrest, I also achieved high national rankings for the 400 meter, and part of my responsibilities was training the other athletes So a lot of my focus in my personal life is still training for sprinting. But that doesn't limit my training to others of course, but it does give me a grounding.


F: That makes sense that you are a peak athlete, you are certainly in great shape... Aside from just looking good for the beach, why do you think it is important for people to take fitness seriously?


N: It's not just about looking good for the beach, it's also about fitting well into clothes. You don't have to be built like Arnold, or build like me and have an 8-pack… It's about making people feel good about themselves. And there's also the health benefits, as well as recuperative training. My degree is in sports medicine, and I'm licensed not only in that but also physiotherapy. So If someone needs to get working again after an accident, I'm your girl.

F: Indeed, and of course, getting that 8-pack is a lot of work. I couldn't just do a few sit-ups and end up with a stomach as cut as yours. For a lot of people, the motivation to work at it and stay working at it is tough. What keeps you motivated, and what can you do to help your clients keep that fire alive?


N: Part of that is genetics of course. But keeping someone motivated can actually be quite hard. What you need to do is find a 'why' someone wants to train and keep hammering on that. for me, it was the Olympics actually, and I’m still shooting for it." But it boils down to, find something you love, and do that.


F: Physiology and psychology. Very impressive. Well if someone here wants to take that fitness goal they've been thinking about seriously, you are the girl to talk to for sure. How does one book an appointment with you?


N: It's a process actually. I like getting to know people and learn if I can work with them. So after someone contacts me by phone or social media, and then we talk like this, about goals, and expectations. If I feel I can work with you I'll pass over a contract.


F: Nara, Thanks again for sitting down to talk to me.


You can contact Nara Nueva right now to start talking your new year’s resolution seriously.


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page