top of page
  • Writer's pictureFinn Holmgren

Ink the Town Red

Updated: Dec 9, 2020

Sitting Down with Bex Bishop



Finn: I'm Here with Bex Bishop, a local business owner. Bex, tell us a bit about your business.


Bex: Well it’s my First Business venture, a tattoo shop. I was going to the School of Art + Design in Oregon. I went on vacation to see a friend in New Orleans, she worked at the Electric Lady [tattoo parlor] there. I was so fascinated and got hooked. I apprenticed under her and never went back to Art School.


F: That’s great! Now you are adorned with lots of wonderful ink of your own, do you remember what your first tattoo was?


B: I sure do. This one on my arm. It’s from F. Scott Fitzgerald. Beautiful and The Damned ‘ I shall go on shining as a brilliantly meaningless figure in a meaningless world.’ My Dad and I read it together before he died.


F: Very touching, definitely something worth keeping with you always. And your most recent tattoo?

Owner of Le Plume Ink, Bex Bishop
Owner of Le Plume Ink, Bex Bishop

B: It’s a poem, Raw With Love By Charles Bukowski.

'I will remember the kisses our lips raw with love

and how you gave me everything you had

and how I offered you what was left of me,

and I will remember your small room

the feel of you

the light in the window

your records

your books

our morning coffee

our noons our nights

our bodies spilled together sleeping

the tiny flowing currents

immediate and forever

your leg my leg

your arm my arm

your smile and the warmth of you

who made me laugh again.


F: That is part of the beauty of tattoos, you get to have the ideas that are most important to you with you at all times. With that said not all are so unique... I am sure there are some tattoos that you must be tired of inking?


B: Honestly, tattoo wedding rings. The ink always runs and warps. I try to convince people not to because it’s painful and it never keeps for long. Ink is subjective I have a tendency to put people off who are indecisive about what they want. I mean if they have a general idea then sure that is my job as an artist but if they have no clue. It could so easily be turned on me.


F: Totally makes sense. Any advice for someone thinking about getting their first tattoo?


B: Actually I have none except to understand that there’s pain involved. I can numb it with agents but there’s pain. Start small in an area that can be covered then expand that’s the best way to get tatted then it’s a journey from there


F: Very good advice! Thank you So much for sitting down to chat. You can find Bex at Le Plume Ink #1 Brambley Lane, right across from Fabio’s.


Photo by Finn Holmgren

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page