top of page
  • Writer's pictureFinn Holmgren

Chaos in the Police Department?

Updated: Dec 9, 2020

One thing is certain. Our community has been struck by a string of violent crimes since May of this year. Starting with a man drowning in a pool (this was later determined to be a "freak accident" involving a venomous snake and too many coincidences) and most recently a 4th of July murder, with the body stashed in a place seemingly intended to be found. You'll notice we've reported on all of these, but have not yet been able to report any convictions.

While a rise in crime is concerning enough, there was also the mysterious disappearance of the Chief of Police, John Devoue. Right around the time of the 4th of July murder was when people realized they had no idea where he was, how long he would be gone, or if he was even alive. This lack of knowledge about his whereabouts even extended to detectives in the department. Nearly two weeks later Chief Devoue has returned, apparently, it was a vacation and a failure to communicate.


"I am determined to root the bad apples from this town and drown them in the ocean if need be."

I was able to speak to a source close to the Department who was able to give me updates on the investigations. Unfortunately, that update is that there is no update. The massacre on the beach and the Independence day murder are still very much open cases. In the face of the lack of results the Chief, whom I was also able to speak to, had this to say when asked if he felt energized after his vacation.

"I'm not just energized. I am determined to root the bad apples from this town and drown them in the ocean if need be. I don't cotton to nonsense and I won't stand around while my town gets overrun. You have my word on that."

While the words sound good, I'm curious if the chaos of the department and lack of recent results can be turned around to make the bite of the department match the Chief's bark.


Photography by Finn Holmgren


42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page