top of page
  • Zachariah Scott

Fresh from the Sea

Updated: Dec 9, 2020

A Bonita Story

~ by S. Reed, journalist


The Owner of the Journal, Miss Isla Nova visited with the prestige Emi Tender at her Seafood Restaurant and now we can give you some insight.


"It's a lovely restaurant, Emi is sweet and friendly, perfect personality for the restaurant business and food is to die for. Would definitely be my first choice for a date. Five stars even if I am not a trained food critic." Isla Nova had to say after her time at Bonita.

Q: "When did you decide to buy the restaurant and why?"

A: "Well, I have always been a lover of the finer things in life. When I arrived on the Island, I could see that it was crying out for a seafood place. The freshest fish accompanied by the best wines and champagnes, somewhere people can come to enjoy a beautiful meal, in beautiful surroundings. I put plans into motion within the first week i was here, and Bonitas was borne soon afterwards. I'm rather focused when i put my mind to achieving my goals"


Q: "What kind of luxuries are there to find in the restaurant?"

A: "My chef Vince is a genius, every day we have specials. One day it could be lobster, the next some exquisite trout, crab, of course we always have fresh salmon. He smokes that at home. Nothing is too much trouble for him. We discuss menus every week and make sure that our wines are paired perfectly to suit each dish. From a fine Chablis, to a crisp dry Champagne. We also have fine cognacs, whiskeys and specialty cocktails, for those who prefer something a little on the frivolous side"


Q: "So do you catch the fish fresh, here on the coast of Decadent Isles or do you import most of the fish?"

A: "We do catch most of it here, but I have some very good contacts who supply me as well. We import a few select fish, such as tuna which is quite difficult to get hold of; all our fish is ethically caught, from sustainable sources. I am adamant on that, we use best practices, and all the accompaniments such as salads or vegetables are from organic sources. iIam very aware of environmental issues, and we work with our suppliers to ensure that we have those at the forefront of the food we supply, and use."


Q:"Tell me a bit about yourself, is this your first restaurant? Have you had restaurants before?

A:"No, this is my first restaurant. it was a big step for me, but i am loving every moment so far."


Q:"Do you have a passion for seafood, did you grow up close the sea?"

A: "No, i grew up in the countryside in England however when i was younger we spent a lot of time traveling, Spain, Italy and i think that is where my passion from food came from."


Q: "Anything you would like to add from your side?"

A: "Just that we are open daily, we're planning some fun events, and are available for outside catering if anyone needs those services"


Q:"Anything special we can expect in the near future?"

A "Oh now, that would be spoiling the surprise! You can however expect events. I'm hoping to establish a Sunday brunch, buffet style so that people can drop in and have the chance to meet others, maybe make business connections"

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page